Home » Uncategorized » SOMEONE THAT I MISS THE MOST…

SOMEONE THAT I MISS THE MOST…

the person that ive lost…i think ive mentioned this person before in many of my posts…it has to be my granny or dadi (as i used to call her)…

but since today’s whole assignment is upon her i think ill elaborate my life as it was with my granny a bit more…

from the start she had been like my second mother…she used to braid my hair before i went to school …she even used to play with me when i was bored…i still remember when i used to come from school as a little girl of 6 she used to make me wash my hands, lead me to the dining table and then she used to make me eat all kinds of food which i hated!…she used to tell me the benefits of eating those foods when i refused to eat them…on other days she used to make delicious potato parathas(an indian dish) which i used to love eating…her dishes were a hit in my school as everyone wanted a piece of what she’d made!..thats another story that by eating her food i piled on considerable weight but thats very insignificant compared to all the love that she poured into those food for me…

my granny she had an extraordinary passion for cooking…my father says that the reason for this might me that she was married of when she was just 14 yrs old and so her entire life was spent on preparing food for others and so food indirectly became a very important part of her life…i still remember that in every festival even a year before her condition started to worsen she was the one who actively prepared meals for people or relatives…when i was little she didnt let my mum enter the kitchen much as kitchen used to be exclusively ‘her territory’…one of the most happy memories that i have with her is when she used to teach me how to cook…i really enjoyed cooking with her…doing everything wrong and then leaving it on her to correct it!

apart from cooking her other passion was praying…she was a devoted hindu…she used to regularly go on all kinds of religious fasts…never in these 20 years that ive spent with her ive seen her skipping any fast or not doing her prayers…even when her   condition was worsening day by day and she was hospitalised many times then also she found the time to go on her elaborate prayer rituals…she made my father shift the prayer room to her room where she spent the last remaining days of her life….

what can i say…. my life with her was just great…

i know that we should not have any regrets in life but honestly i have to admit that on my granny’s part ive definitely got a couple of regrets….the first one being that from the time i learnt to speak till the time i turned 18 i didnt took my her seriously…i knew she was getting old but still since she was so active i always kinda assumed that she’ll always be with me no matter what!…on some occasions i even talked to her in a very rude manner..it was only when she suffered her first stroke that i realized just how precious she was to me!…when she suffered her first attack i was 18…i had just taken admission in college…god! i can still remember that time!…i used to go to washeroom and standing in front of the mirror there the tears used to come out on there own from my eyes without me knowing it…the memories of the long gone days that i spent with her came rushing down on me and made me cry out
my other complain is to god…why? oh why? did he let my granny suffer so damn much before dying?…she used to pray to him regularly then why did he make her suffer so much?…my granny did not die simply …firstly she tumbled out of her bed which led to a huge wound in her forehead…she was 78 at that time…the wound was soo strong and it happened to her at such an old age that she never recovered from it completely…then came her first stroke on march 2012…she somehow survived it…on dec 2013 she once again tumbled out of her bed which led to another wound on her forehead…i was alone with my sister when this happened…there was blood all over her room…the sight was soo disgusting i dont even want to remember it!…then in the year 2013 after suffering various breathing attacks she finally breathed her last on this 2nd june 2014…
its crazy isnt it…just this time last year she was teaching me how to sew…
the only thing that im happy for is that god gave her a peaceful death..she died while doing her prayer peacefully…also after suffering soo many attacks she had given up on life and lost the desire to live…im happy that god atlast gave her relief from this life
my life has changed slightly after her death…now im all aone in my house whereas previously she used to be with me always
oh granny you’ll always always be in my memories…i hope that you shine on me from above

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/writing-101-day-four/ 

5 thoughts on “SOMEONE THAT I MISS THE MOST…

Leave a comment